As I continually apply for 100+ summer internships, I realized I found myself applying for Public Relations and Social Media summer internship positions due to my experience as Public Relations officer of my sorority. But then I realized, aren’t we pretty much all extensively experienced with social media at this point?

Now I’m questioning, when did we all start to focus our actions around what we are able to post on Facebook or Instagram? A couple weeks ago, I overheard my roommate say, “I’m not going go out with y’all, but I’m getting ready so I can take pictures with you and have something to ‘Insta’.”

I rolled my eyes, and went back to scrolling through the various social media platforms.

I feel as if people lead a different life on social media. They only showcase the most positive, most attractive times of their lives that happened to be captured on an iPhone. But then you see the pictures girls love to take, the ones where they pose but try to make it look like they are candidly laughing with their BFF. We all know what you did there.

I think this society is consumed by its phones, tablets, and computers. They would never showcase the low times, and I think social media has become more revolved around branding oneself. Companies use all social media to sell their brand. They hire young millennials to run their Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter and make sure they post the most aesthetically pleasing picture that will attract their target audience.

Don’t get me wrong though, I would take a PR internship in a heartbeat if they were willing to pay me.